Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

The thought of $3.50 corn for the foreseeable future seems pretty disheartening. However, if you look at the precision ag space you might notice some light at the end of the tunnel.

We’ve progressed to a place where we are collecting volumes of good yield, planting, and as-applied data. However, when it comes to using this data beyond looking at a paper map, we really need to admit we haven’t been using it to its full potential. And by “we”, I mean both the precision ag specialist and the grower.

Current technology allows us to marry information layers with our financial information. We can then couple it with current grain markets to determine farm financial performance. This has become a must for any operation. In order for us to weather these lower commodity prices, we are going to need to know “the rest of the story,” as Paul Harvey put it. Preserving and re-allocating working capital within the operation is of utmost importance.

Here are some important working capital allocation questions to consider:

  • How is our VRT fertilizer application paying?
  • Is there another crop production scenario that would maximize ROI?
  • If I showed these improved projections to my banker, would he be a little more generous on my operating loan and the interest rate?
  • In a depressed grain market, what am I going to do differently this year in order to improve my outcome to survive to the next growing season?

Imagine being able to identify areas in a field that have been consistently losing $250+ per acre per year over the past 3 years or more. Or how about finding other areas of the farm have production capped at 230 bushels because that’s all you fertilize for? What if you could utilize the data you’ve already taken valuable time and money to collect to give you a better idea of where to spend that exact same $250 to maximize your ROI? How would this change your operation?

The technology to be able to put these layers together to generate profitability zones in a sub-field scale on a map is available and is the sort of tool that will be utilized by the growers who will find their way back to prosperity the quickest. With that in mind, take note of this:

Analyzing profit on a spatial basis trumps EVERYTHING else that we are currently doing in the precision ag space!

As you look at your data in a spatial profitability program, you will notice that yield is not the only major determining factor to profitability and you can potentially improve your profitability without raising more bushels by simply finding areas in your field where you are investing your money inefficiently. Yes, this might require taking a good, long look at the quality of your data; but for many growers utilizing a spatial profitability analysis program could literally mean the difference between staying in business or going broke!

Not every grower has the time or is tech savvy enough to do this effectively. The same can be said about doing taxes, and that’s why most of us hire accountants. If you struggle with something like inputting your data into any of the popular web-based GIS software programs, then it’s important to have someone from outside your operation to assist you using the wonders of modern ag-tech. Your trusted precision ag advisor, if equipped with the right tools, may be able to help you with this.

What is Wrong with Using Spreadsheets?

I know a lot of people say spreadsheets are a great tool to measure profitability. However, with the data layers we have collected showing sub-field placement of our variable inputs it’s clear that spreadsheets are unable to accurately measure the variable profitability within the field. The new technology is all about managing profitability on a sub-field basis and you will find that spreadsheets just won’t cut it as a way of measuring that. I officially thank spreadsheets for their years of service in helping us determine “whole field” or “whole farm” profitability, but now it is time for spatial profitability analysis programs to take over that role.

I know this may be a big change for people, but it’s no different than when we moved from typewriters to computers for word processing a few decades ago. A new piece of technology was developed and everyone adapted without looking back. This is exactly what is happening with new GIS software technology and the growers who adopt it first have an advantage over the ones who drag their feet in adopting this technology. I encourage you to talk to your trusted precision ag advisor and ask how to improve your working capital allocation and return on investment by using this new technology.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

  1. Some fields or parts of the field will not yield 230 bu per acre no matter what you do. you have to look at if you invest a dollar are you getting more than a dollar ROI. I have a degree in GIS and most people are not ready to use GIS. in there operation.

  2. Not nearly as much fun for most guys as being in the shop working on things in the winter! And I think many of us on the precision ag side are trying to extract too much $$ to provide the consulting assistance to help those farmers who don’t want to sit in front of computers make sense of what they are seeing and develop strategies for THEM to make money from it. Venture capitalists are a greedy lot and need to be fed!

Data Management Stories
Data ManagementDigital Farming: Keep It Simple Analytics
May 15, 2018
In previous articles, I tried to lay out some logical components and processes that enable digital farming to get inside Read More
NOAA-Snow-Depth-Analysis-April-15
Data ManagementRebounding Spring for 2018 Planting: Cold April Weather Finally Gives Way to Promising May Forecast
May 14, 2018
This month, I am taking a break from discussing weather technology or opining on how to better apply weather and Read More
Steve-Pitstick
Data ManagementHow Industrial AI Can Maximize the Potential of Agriculture’s Planting Season
May 10, 2018
I go to great lengths to speak with growers and meet with them in the field. For those of us Read More
Big Data
AmericasUSDA, AgGateway Join Forces on Data Standards
May 1, 2018
AgGateway and USDA have forged an agreement to work together on data projects to benefit American farmers in the transition Read More
Trending Articles
Ernie-Chappell-Screenshot
EventsEFC Systems Sponsorship Demonstrates Commitment to Continuing Education for Retail Dealerships
May 16, 2018
Enterprise software manufacturer EFC Systems, scholarship sponsor of the inaugural PrecisionAg® Professional Accelerator professional development conference this June in Brookings, Read More
Dr Brian Arnall Oklahoma State Paul Schrimpf
Excellence AwardsPrecisionAg Awards Of Excellence Nominations Accepted Through May 18
May 14, 2018
Nominate an outstanding individual for one of four PrecisionAg Awards of Excellence. Recipients will be honored at a special ceremony during the 2018 InfoAg Conference in July. Read More
EventsMeister Media Debuts Growing Innovations
May 10, 2018
As a service provider, you and your grower customers probably can agree on this much: While innovation abounds in agriculture, Read More
UCANR_booth_Food_IT_forum
EventsForum Calling All Innovators of Agriculture Technology
May 2, 2018
The challenges that come with feeding the world continue to grow. Luckily, so do advances in information technology that are Read More
Farm-Storm-Clouds-Photo-Eden-Hills
Data ManagementThe Precipitation Problem in Agriculture
April 17, 2018
Precipitation is arguably the most important agricultural weather parameter, yet it is the most difficult variable to precisely measure. For Read More
SDSU-drone
Business ManagementInside the Key Strategies For Selling Precision Ag Services
April 13, 2018
In its earliest manifestation, the motive for developing precision agriculture service was entirely pure. Agronomists knew that crops were responding Read More
Latest News
Imagery/SensingBREAKING: Mavrx Swallowed Up by Israeli Imagery Provide…
May 17, 2018
Taranis, an Israel-based provider of high-resolution agriculture aerial imagery and deep learning, today announced the acquisition of all Mavrx assets, one Read More
PrecisionAg Professional Accelerator
EventsWhat’s Stopping You From Maximizing Your Precision Prog…
May 16, 2018
Day 2 of the PrecisionAg® Professional Accelerator will challenge you to evaluate and improve your approach to customer value and Read More
Raven-screenshot
EventsRaven Focused on Retail Education with Top Gun Training…
May 16, 2018
It’s no secret that the demand for precision ag technology is growing. As the world population increases, so does the Read More
Ernie-Chappell-Screenshot
EventsEFC Systems Sponsorship Demonstrates Commitment to Cont…
May 16, 2018
Enterprise software manufacturer EFC Systems, scholarship sponsor of the inaugural PrecisionAg® Professional Accelerator professional development conference this June in Brookings, Read More
Industry NewsPinnacle Joins Crowded E-Commerce Segment With My Pinna…
May 16, 2018
Pinnacle announced today the launch of its new website along with a new interactive grower-customer portal, My Pinnacle. The No.6-ranked Read More
Veris Soil EC
Sensors/IoTUsing Electrical Conductivity (EC) Sensors in Precision…
May 16, 2018
The measurement of soil EC is widely used in agriculture. However, there is still confusion around the meaning of the Read More
Corn Field Sunset
Industry NewsRaven Announces DOT Joint Development Agreement
May 16, 2018
Raven Industries announced today it will be utilizing its precision agriculture technologies to power the autonomous farming solutions of the Read More
Field-Equipment
Sensors/IoTTop 6 Digital Transformation Trends in Agriculture
May 15, 2018
In recent years, technology in agriculture, also known as AgTech has rapidly changed the industry, writes Daniel Newman on Forbes.com. Read More
Data ManagementDigital Farming: Keep It Simple Analytics
May 15, 2018
In previous articles, I tried to lay out some logical components and processes that enable digital farming to get inside Read More
NOAA-Snow-Depth-Analysis-April-15
Data ManagementRebounding Spring for 2018 Planting: Cold April Weather…
May 14, 2018
This month, I am taking a break from discussing weather technology or opining on how to better apply weather and Read More
Dr Brian Arnall Oklahoma State Paul Schrimpf
Excellence AwardsPrecisionAg Awards Of Excellence Nominations Accepted T…
May 14, 2018
Nominate an outstanding individual for one of four PrecisionAg Awards of Excellence. Recipients will be honored at a special ceremony during the 2018 InfoAg Conference in July. Read More
Ag Retailer and Growers with tablet WinField United
Industry NewsCommoditAg Announces Enhanced E-Commerce Platform
May 11, 2018
CommoditAg launches CommoditAg LIVE, described as “an enhanced ecommerce platform providing more benefits to growers, and a superior customer experience”. According Read More
Industry NewsTrimble Adds Crop Health Imagery, Work Orders Features …
May 10, 2018
Trimble announced today that it has added Crop Health Imagery and Work Orders features to its Trimble Ag Software. The Read More
Parkland College Student Training
AmericasBushel Garners $7 Million Private Investment Round
May 10, 2018
Bushel today announced a $7 million private investment round to accelerate its patent-pending digital platform for the grain industry. The Read More
Steve-Pitstick
Data ManagementHow Industrial AI Can Maximize the Potential of Agricul…
May 10, 2018
I go to great lengths to speak with growers and meet with them in the field. For those of us Read More
EventsMeister Media Debuts Growing Innovations
May 10, 2018
As a service provider, you and your grower customers probably can agree on this much: While innovation abounds in agriculture, Read More
Farmers Edge Truck
AmericasFarmers Edge, Raven Announce Collaboration Agreement
May 9, 2018
Raven Industries and Farmers Edge announced today a marketing and collaboration agreement. The two companies are working together to develop Read More
Canton-Fair
AsiaChina’s Canton Fair Sheds Light on Agricultural T…
May 7, 2018
Last month I visited China to learn more about agriculture by attending the largest import and export fairs — the Read More