Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

The thought of $3.50 corn for the foreseeable future seems pretty disheartening. However, if you look at the precision ag space you might notice some light at the end of the tunnel.

We’ve progressed to a place where we are collecting volumes of good yield, planting, and as-applied data. However, when it comes to using this data beyond looking at a paper map, we really need to admit we haven’t been using it to its full potential. And by “we”, I mean both the precision ag specialist and the grower.

Current technology allows us to marry information layers with our financial information. We can then couple it with current grain markets to determine farm financial performance. This has become a must for any operation. In order for us to weather these lower commodity prices, we are going to need to know “the rest of the story,” as Paul Harvey put it. Preserving and re-allocating working capital within the operation is of utmost importance.

Here are some important working capital allocation questions to consider:

  • How is our VRT fertilizer application paying?
  • Is there another crop production scenario that would maximize ROI?
  • If I showed these improved projections to my banker, would he be a little more generous on my operating loan and the interest rate?
  • In a depressed grain market, what am I going to do differently this year in order to improve my outcome to survive to the next growing season?

Imagine being able to identify areas in a field that have been consistently losing $250+ per acre per year over the past 3 years or more. Or how about finding other areas of the farm have production capped at 230 bushels because that’s all you fertilize for? What if you could utilize the data you’ve already taken valuable time and money to collect to give you a better idea of where to spend that exact same $250 to maximize your ROI? How would this change your operation?

The technology to be able to put these layers together to generate profitability zones in a sub-field scale on a map is available and is the sort of tool that will be utilized by the growers who will find their way back to prosperity the quickest. With that in mind, take note of this:

Analyzing profit on a spatial basis trumps EVERYTHING else that we are currently doing in the precision ag space!

As you look at your data in a spatial profitability program, you will notice that yield is not the only major determining factor to profitability and you can potentially improve your profitability without raising more bushels by simply finding areas in your field where you are investing your money inefficiently. Yes, this might require taking a good, long look at the quality of your data; but for many growers utilizing a spatial profitability analysis program could literally mean the difference between staying in business or going broke!

Not every grower has the time or is tech savvy enough to do this effectively. The same can be said about doing taxes, and that’s why most of us hire accountants. If you struggle with something like inputting your data into any of the popular web-based GIS software programs, then it’s important to have someone from outside your operation to assist you using the wonders of modern ag-tech. Your trusted precision ag advisor, if equipped with the right tools, may be able to help you with this.

What is Wrong with Using Spreadsheets?

I know a lot of people say spreadsheets are a great tool to measure profitability. However, with the data layers we have collected showing sub-field placement of our variable inputs it’s clear that spreadsheets are unable to accurately measure the variable profitability within the field. The new technology is all about managing profitability on a sub-field basis and you will find that spreadsheets just won’t cut it as a way of measuring that. I officially thank spreadsheets for their years of service in helping us determine “whole field” or “whole farm” profitability, but now it is time for spatial profitability analysis programs to take over that role.

I know this may be a big change for people, but it’s no different than when we moved from typewriters to computers for word processing a few decades ago. A new piece of technology was developed and everyone adapted without looking back. This is exactly what is happening with new GIS software technology and the growers who adopt it first have an advantage over the ones who drag their feet in adopting this technology. I encourage you to talk to your trusted precision ag advisor and ask how to improve your working capital allocation and return on investment by using this new technology.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

  1. Some fields or parts of the field will not yield 230 bu per acre no matter what you do. you have to look at if you invest a dollar are you getting more than a dollar ROI. I have a degree in GIS and most people are not ready to use GIS. in there operation.

  2. Not nearly as much fun for most guys as being in the shop working on things in the winter! And I think many of us on the precision ag side are trying to extract too much $$ to provide the consulting assistance to help those farmers who don’t want to sit in front of computers make sense of what they are seeing and develop strategies for THEM to make money from it. Venture capitalists are a greedy lot and need to be fed!

Data Management Stories
CNH-and-Trimble-Data-Sharing_1
Data ManagementTrimble, CNH Collaborate on Data Sharing Connectivity
July 26, 2017
Trimble and CNH Industrial, a global leader in agricultural equipment, have announced they are enabling wireless connectivity between Trimble Ag Read More
Tablet Grower
Data ManagementProspera Raises $15 Million to Transform Farms with Data
July 25, 2017
Digital farming company Prospera has announced a $15 million Series B funding round. Qualcomm Ventures, the investment arm of Qualcomm Read More
Data ManagementEFC Announces FieldAlytics, Adapt-N Expanded Integration
July 17, 2017
EFC Systems is pleased to announce an expanded integration between its FieldAlytics product and Agronomic Technology Corp’s Adapt-N nitrogen recommendations Read More
Data ManagementOpinion: Benchmarking in Precision Agriculture is Big Statistics
July 17, 2017
Benchmarking has become a buzzword in precision agriculture recently and before we get too excited with all of the profound Read More
Trending Articles
Resistant-weeds-in-Brazil
InternationalUsing Precision Agriculture to Control Herbicide-Resistant Weeds in Brazil
July 24, 2017
The occurrence of weeds in agricultural fields of grain and fiber production has caused losses to farmers for a long Read More
Yield Data Image
Data ManagementYield Data: More Than a Pretty Picture
July 13, 2017
It is mid-July, which, for the Australian cotton industry, means that picking is still going on for some growers. A Read More
BASF Maglis Grower Tablet
ProfessionalsPatience Needed: Lessons for Getting New Tech onto the Farm
July 6, 2017
A popular joke within the tech industry was trotted out at GAI AgTech Week in Boston, MA, speaking volumes about Read More
PrecisionAg Vision Conference
EventsPrecisionAg® Vision Conference: Focused on the Future
June 13, 2017
PrecisionAg® is pleased to announce the return of its PrecisionAg Vision Conference, October 10-12, 2017. Based on overwhelmingly positive response Read More
Gavin Newsom Forbes AgTech-Summit
ProfessionalsAgTech Summit Aiming High for Modern Farming Solutions
June 12, 2017
THRIVE AgTech, in partnership with SVG Partners and Forbes, is hosting the third annual Forbes AgTech Summit June 28-29 in Read More
Quantix Drone Farmer
DronesTop 10 Most Intriguing Technologies in Agriculture
June 3, 2017
This may be a bit of stating the obvious here, but we’ll throw it out there anyways: as much as Read More
Latest News
CNH-and-Trimble-Data-Sharing_1
Data ManagementTrimble, CNH Collaborate on Data Sharing Connectivity
July 26, 2017
Trimble and CNH Industrial, a global leader in agricultural equipment, have announced they are enabling wireless connectivity between Trimble Ag Read More
Imagery/SensingEFC Systems Announces Imagery Delivery Integration with…
July 25, 2017
EFC Systems, Inc. has announced a new integration between its FieldAlytics product and Geosys Bridge API for direct delivery of Read More
Tablet Grower
Data ManagementProspera Raises $15 Million to Transform Farms with Dat…
July 25, 2017
Digital farming company Prospera has announced a $15 million Series B funding round. Qualcomm Ventures, the investment arm of Qualcomm Read More
Resistant-weeds-in-Brazil
InternationalUsing Precision Agriculture to Control Herbicide-Resist…
July 24, 2017
The occurrence of weeds in agricultural fields of grain and fiber production has caused losses to farmers for a long Read More
John-Deere-and-Farm-Dog
Grower Services & SolutionsFarm Dog Strengthens its Integration with John Deere Op…
July 24, 2017
Farm Dog, the leading pest and disease management platform for growers and agronomists, has completed the second stage of its Read More
Industry NewsLindsay Corp. Names Dow’s Timothy Hassinger New C…
July 19, 2017
Lindsay Corp. has  announced the appointment of Timothy Hassinger as president and CEO and a member of its board of Read More
InfoAg 2015
Events2017 Awards of Excellence Winners Announced
July 18, 2017
PrecisionAg Institute is pleased to announce its Awards of Excellence winners for 2017. Honorees of this year’s prestigious award are Read More
Interseeding Cover Crops
ProfessionalsA 3-Step Approach to Interseeding Cover Crops
July 18, 2017
As growers continue to search for opportunities to create healthier soils and increase yields, more trusted advisors and farmers are Read More
Rod Weimer and Paul Schrimpf
Excellence AwardsPast Recipients Of The PrecisionAg Awards Of Excellence
July 18, 2017
Since 2007, the PrecisionAg Insititute has sponsored the annual Awards of Excellence program. Here's a list of the past winners. Read More
Data ManagementEFC Announces FieldAlytics, Adapt-N Expanded Integratio…
July 17, 2017
EFC Systems is pleased to announce an expanded integration between its FieldAlytics product and Agronomic Technology Corp’s Adapt-N nitrogen recommendations Read More
Data ManagementOpinion: Benchmarking in Precision Agriculture is Big S…
July 17, 2017
Benchmarking has become a buzzword in precision agriculture recently and before we get too excited with all of the profound Read More
Yield Data Image
Data ManagementYield Data: More Than a Pretty Picture
July 13, 2017
It is mid-July, which, for the Australian cotton industry, means that picking is still going on for some growers. A Read More
Industry NewsQuick Rewind: Ohio Dealer Talks Deere-Precision Plantin…
July 12, 2017
A few weeks ago I took a quick trip south down I-71 to Central Ohio (for you non-Buckeyes, I-71 runs Read More
DronesSentera Launches Versatile Quad Sensor for Drones
July 12, 2017
Fully Customizable Filters on Sentera Quad Sensor Allow for Unique Crop Health Detection Capabilities Sentera introduces the latest update to Read More
Hortau Irrigation Management Software
Sensors/IoTHortau Named Finalist for CogX Artificial Intelligence …
July 10, 2017
Hortau was recently named a CogX Award finalist in the Best Artificial Intelligence Product in Agriculture category. The awards were Read More
Grower Services & SolutionsVantage South Atlantic Announces Mid-South Expansion
July 10, 2017
Vantage South Atlantic announced that it has joined Trimble Agriculture’s global network of independent Vantage partners to provide farmers, advisors, Read More
Ag Retailer and Grower WinField United
Decision Support SoftwareAgronomic Technology Corp Surpasses Daily Nitrogen Reco…
July 6, 2017
Agronomic Technology Corp, a leader in agricultural field modeling for soil, water, crops, and fertilizer, for the first time surpassed Read More
Precision IrrigationDealership Celebrates 25 Years in the Irrigation Game
July 6, 2017
25 years ago, Bobby Kempenich had an idea. An idea to launch a business that combined his knowledge of irrigation Read More