Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

The thought of $3.50 corn for the foreseeable future seems pretty disheartening. However, if you look at the precision ag space you might notice some light at the end of the tunnel.

We’ve progressed to a place where we are collecting volumes of good yield, planting, and as-applied data. However, when it comes to using this data beyond looking at a paper map, we really need to admit we haven’t been using it to its full potential. And by “we”, I mean both the precision ag specialist and the grower.

Current technology allows us to marry information layers with our financial information. We can then couple it with current grain markets to determine farm financial performance. This has become a must for any operation. In order for us to weather these lower commodity prices, we are going to need to know “the rest of the story,” as Paul Harvey put it. Preserving and re-allocating working capital within the operation is of utmost importance.

Here are some important working capital allocation questions to consider:

  • How is our VRT fertilizer application paying?
  • Is there another crop production scenario that would maximize ROI?
  • If I showed these improved projections to my banker, would he be a little more generous on my operating loan and the interest rate?
  • In a depressed grain market, what am I going to do differently this year in order to improve my outcome to survive to the next growing season?

Imagine being able to identify areas in a field that have been consistently losing $250+ per acre per year over the past 3 years or more. Or how about finding other areas of the farm have production capped at 230 bushels because that’s all you fertilize for? What if you could utilize the data you’ve already taken valuable time and money to collect to give you a better idea of where to spend that exact same $250 to maximize your ROI? How would this change your operation?

The technology to be able to put these layers together to generate profitability zones in a sub-field scale on a map is available and is the sort of tool that will be utilized by the growers who will find their way back to prosperity the quickest. With that in mind, take note of this:

Analyzing profit on a spatial basis trumps EVERYTHING else that we are currently doing in the precision ag space!

As you look at your data in a spatial profitability program, you will notice that yield is not the only major determining factor to profitability and you can potentially improve your profitability without raising more bushels by simply finding areas in your field where you are investing your money inefficiently. Yes, this might require taking a good, long look at the quality of your data; but for many growers utilizing a spatial profitability analysis program could literally mean the difference between staying in business or going broke!

Not every grower has the time or is tech savvy enough to do this effectively. The same can be said about doing taxes, and that’s why most of us hire accountants. If you struggle with something like inputting your data into any of the popular web-based GIS software programs, then it’s important to have someone from outside your operation to assist you using the wonders of modern ag-tech. Your trusted precision ag advisor, if equipped with the right tools, may be able to help you with this.

What is Wrong with Using Spreadsheets?

I know a lot of people say spreadsheets are a great tool to measure profitability. However, with the data layers we have collected showing sub-field placement of our variable inputs it’s clear that spreadsheets are unable to accurately measure the variable profitability within the field. The new technology is all about managing profitability on a sub-field basis and you will find that spreadsheets just won’t cut it as a way of measuring that. I officially thank spreadsheets for their years of service in helping us determine “whole field” or “whole farm” profitability, but now it is time for spatial profitability analysis programs to take over that role.

I know this may be a big change for people, but it’s no different than when we moved from typewriters to computers for word processing a few decades ago. A new piece of technology was developed and everyone adapted without looking back. This is exactly what is happening with new GIS software technology and the growers who adopt it first have an advantage over the ones who drag their feet in adopting this technology. I encourage you to talk to your trusted precision ag advisor and ask how to improve your working capital allocation and return on investment by using this new technology.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

  1. Some fields or parts of the field will not yield 230 bu per acre no matter what you do. you have to look at if you invest a dollar are you getting more than a dollar ROI. I have a degree in GIS and most people are not ready to use GIS. in there operation.

  2. Not nearly as much fun for most guys as being in the shop working on things in the winter! And I think many of us on the precision ag side are trying to extract too much $$ to provide the consulting assistance to help those farmers who don’t want to sit in front of computers make sense of what they are seeing and develop strategies for THEM to make money from it. Venture capitalists are a greedy lot and need to be fed!

Data Management Stories
Young Corn Field
Data ManagementPurdue Online Tool to Help Farmers Make Precision Decisions, Keep Data Private
September 14, 2017
An innovative online tool developed by a Purdue University engineering professor will allow farmers to process data collected from their Read More
BASF Maglis grower retailer tablet
Data ManagementWhat Will Happen to My Data? Understanding Your Rights in Precision Agriculture
September 12, 2017
The use of precision agriculture-based decision making to determine fertilizer rates and hybrid types and planting rates is becoming more Read More
Data ManagementPrecision Farming: What’s Your Data Worth to You?
September 8, 2017
Today’s farm equipment today comes with more bells, whistles and blinking lights than Captain Nemo’s submarine, and most of those Read More
corn field
Data ManagementCan Artificial Intelligence Help Feed the World?
September 6, 2017
Editor’s note: Ryan Rakestraw from Monsanto Growth Ventures has teamed up with Amrit Acharya from Mckinsey to write the following Read More
Trending Articles
Farmer with iPad
Australia/New ZealandAgrian Expands into Australia
September 20, 2017
In line with a familiar growth trajectory, Agrian Inc. is moving into Australia with a physical support and sales presence Read More
John-Deere-labs
Tools & Smart EquipmentHow John Deere’s New AI Lab Is Designing Farm Equipment for a More Sustainable Future
September 15, 2017
On a block in San Francisco’s SoMa district, near LinkedIn’s headquarters and dozens of startups, a 180-year-old company best-known for Read More
BASF Maglis grower retailer tablet
Data ManagementWhat Will Happen to My Data? Understanding Your Rights in Precision Agriculture
September 12, 2017
The use of precision agriculture-based decision making to determine fertilizer rates and hybrid types and planting rates is becoming more Read More
Robotics/Labor SaversBlue River, Deere Deal Will Accelerate Farm Robot Innovation
September 11, 2017
No, Blue River Co-founder and CEO Jorge Heraud has not been deposed — Gaddafi-style — by big, bad corporate overlord Read More
Farming at Sunset
Business ManagementAgtech Issues: The Shiny Object Syndrome
September 6, 2017
Do you remember those cartoons where someone lures someone else by placing a piece of candy, small amount of money, Read More
AgQuip overview
Australia/New ZealandAgQuip 2017 Displays New Ag Technology in Australia
August 28, 2017
The annual AgQuip field days took place in Gunnedah, NSW on August 22-24. Being the largest agricultural field days in Read More
Latest News
deepfield-robotics-bonirob
Robotics/Labor SaversDeepfield Robotics to Showcase Precision Agriculture Te…
September 22, 2017
Deepfield Robotics is preparing to showcase its robotics and automation technologies for the agriculture market at the Agrilevante event, in Read More
Kray Drone Application
DronesCrop Spraying Drone Manufacturer Kray Technologies Gets…
September 22, 2017
Chernovetskyi Investment Group (CIG) has reached an agreement on investment into Kray Technologies company, which manufactures Kray Protection industrial robotic Read More
Imagery/SensingPlanet Announces New Hi-Res Imagery Products
September 21, 2017
Since our acquisition of Terra Bella, and the SkySat constellation of seven satellites, we’ve been focused on making this high-resolution Read More
Systems ManagementBayer Dismisses Antitrust Concerns about Digital Farmin…
September 20, 2017
Bayer said it was unable to propose the sale of any digital farming assets to allay EU concerns about its Read More
Farmer with iPad
Australia/New ZealandAgrian Expands into Australia
September 20, 2017
In line with a familiar growth trajectory, Agrian Inc. is moving into Australia with a physical support and sales presence Read More
Robotics Specialty Crops
EventsPrecision in Specialty Crops Gains Momentum
September 20, 2017
When John Deere acquired Blue River Technologies (BRT) recently, BRT’s See & Spray technology received plenty of play. Yet many Read More
Decision Support SoftwareSyngenta Helps Lead Efforts for Farm Management Softwar…
September 19, 2017
Ag data from tractors, combines, planters, and other farm machinery present a huge opportunity for growers to manage their operations Read More
Petra-Andren-Cicada-Innovations
Australia/New ZealandGrowLab’s Rocket Fuel for AgTech in Australia
September 19, 2017
Despite its superpower status as a producer and exporter of agricultural goods and services, up until now Australia has had Read More
CropIn-Team-Photo-credit-BW-Disrupt
AsiaCropIn Aims to be a Global Leader in AgTech Sector
September 19, 2017
Krishna Kumar created AgTech startup, CropIn Technology in 2010, along with co-founders Kunal Prasad and Chittranjan Jena. The trio went Read More
China-Beidou-Navigation-Satellite-System
AsiaChina’s Navigation System Gets Powerful Chip to I…
September 18, 2017
A new powerful chip technology has been introduced in China’s national satellite navigation system to provide high-precision positioning, according to Read More
Tablet Grower
Industry NewsFieldReveal Names Hesse New CEO
September 18, 2017
Matt Hesse has been selected as the Chief Executive Officer of FieldReveal, a newly launched joint venture formed to deliver Read More
John-Deere-labs
Tools & Smart EquipmentHow John Deere’s New AI Lab Is Designing Farm Equipment…
September 15, 2017
On a block in San Francisco’s SoMa district, near LinkedIn’s headquarters and dozens of startups, a 180-year-old company best-known for Read More
Wheat sunrise
Australia/New ZealandSparkLabs Group Launches an Agricultural Tech Accelerat…
September 15, 2017
SparkLabs Group, which claims to be the largest startup accelerator group in Asia, is stepping into agricultural tech with a Read More
Sensors/IoTCollaboration Leverages Internet of Things, Sensors in …
September 15, 2017
The vision of having license-free community sensor networks for agricultural users has made a giant leap closer to reality. A Read More
Young Corn Field
Data ManagementPurdue Online Tool to Help Farmers Make Precision Decis…
September 14, 2017
An innovative online tool developed by a Purdue University engineering professor will allow farmers to process data collected from their Read More
forbes-agtech-summit
Precision IrrigationImproving Water Management: Can Silicon Valley Help?
September 13, 2017
I recently attended the Forbes AgTech Summit in Salinas, CA, where roughly 50 start-up companies originating from Silicon Valley and Read More
Nate-Dorsey-Field-Trial-Curve-Compensation
Systems ManagementField Trial: Precision Application and Curve Compensati…
September 13, 2017
Several months ago I wrote an article about curve compensation in planters and how these systems can help create more Read More
Diamondback moth
Tools & Smart EquipmentTechAccel Invests in Unique Sprayable RNAi Pesticide Te…
September 12, 2017
TechAccel, the Kansas City-based technology and venture development company, has announced it has awarded the first grant under its “Path Read More