Opinion: Soil Testing Needs Sensors To Get More Accurate

We are entering a very exciting time in agriculture. With so many great software platforms and data collection tools we are on the cusp of unlocking some really deep, profound information and management techniques like we’ve only dreamed of before. Being able to stack several layers of data on top of each other begins to tell an interesting story at angles that we weren’t able to look at until now. This is great stuff and is really interesting until we realize one huge, uncomfortable truth about the very foundation of our data: our soil tests really aren’t all that accurate.

Don’t get me wrong, the test results we get from soil labs generally get us to a place where we can determine a fertilizer application rate that nets us a return on our investment and at this point in time soil sampling is one of the best investments you can make on your farm. However, there are several areas where we could be doing much better.

The truth is that soil testing needs to go to sensors. If there is some venture capital still laying around somewhere that wasn’t burnt up by building all of these startup companies that try desperately to create a knockoff of Climate, please use it to invest in a sensor-based soil testing program. Seriously, it can only improve what we have been doing through the lab. We’d drastically reduce turnaround time and drastically increase the sampling frequency from once every 4 years to once a year. In science, isn’t a larger, more frequent data set preferable to a smaller and less frequent one with all other variables remaining the same? Now labs are getting better at turn around time and they do a really good job of executing the procedures and methods that we currently have in place, even if many of these procedures are 70+ years old.

However if you look closely, these methods of measuring nutrients can leave a lot to be desired in the accuracy department, which in turn can create a lot of “How the heck do I answer this?” type of questions when your soil tests come back from the lab. A really skilled soil scientist can help you navigate many issues that can baffle even really good agronomists, but there are some issues that still stump those soil scientists. One flaw may be in the fact that our current system relies on point samples and in many places, the soil is much more complex than what can be captured in that system. And let’s face it, you are only as good as the data you collect and are able to utilize.

Precision Planting is on the right track with putting sensors on seed firmers. Testing the soil right in the row and on every row? Yeah, that’s a pretty good idea. I do question the effectiveness of the measurements at just the seeding depth, which is a far cry from the 6-7” that our land grant university recs are made from, but it’s a step in the right direction and maybe those university recommendations need to be updated to new technology as well. The Veris machine also shows promise and seems to be a great option for my counterparts out east who can’t always get deep enough soil samples in rocky soils. But how well does the system scale in the Midwest?

I invite you to join me in the quest to bring soil testing to the field and improve the accuracy of the several decades old soil testing procedures. We can only build as high as our foundation is strong, and in agriculture that begins with a thorough understanding of the soil.

Topics:

Leave a Reply

6 comments on “Opinion: Soil Testing Needs Sensors To Get More Accurate

  1. The current soil test results are accurate representations of the samples. Are the samples representative of the paddock/site in question

  2. Trimble’s 3 D Soil Information System uses 5 layers of collected information and intelligent targeting software to understand soil physical and chemical properties down to 1200mm. This data can be collected on 2.5,5 and 10M resolutions giving unprecedented spatially correct information about soil variation in both surface and sub-surface horizons.

Data Management Stories
John Deere Operations Center
Data ManagementMaximize the John Deere Operations Center for Your Customers
August 16, 2018
Today’s farming operation looks different than it did 20, 10, even just a few years ago. Technology continues to shape Read More
Harvest
Data ManagementAre You Ready for This Year’s Digital Harvest?
August 15, 2018
As the days in the Northern Hemisphere slowly get shorter, they are getting longer in the Southern Hemisphere and everywhere Read More
Data Science tablet
Data ManagementMicrosoft, Agile Networks Detail Central Ohio Broadband Expansion Project
August 9, 2018
Agile Networks, a leading provider of telecommunications solutions, and Microsoft Corp. has announced a new agreement to bring broadband internet Read More
BigDataSmall2
Data ManagementPrecision Agriculture: A Smaller Approach to Big Data
August 7, 2018
Big data is one of the most buzzed-about concepts in our industry. Rarely do we read a newsletter, attend a Read More
Trending Articles
Geosys
Industry NewsUrtheCast to Acquire Geosys from Land O’Lakes in $20 Million Deal
August 15, 2018
UrtheCast Corp. and Land O’Lakes, Inc. today announced they have entered a binding term sheet for the purchase of Geosys Read More
1 On 1 With Paul Schrimpf: Simplot’s Allan Fetters
PrecisionAg InstituteOne on One With Simplot’s Allan Fetters
August 8, 2018
Allan Fetters of PrecisionAg Institute partner Simplot Grower Solutions talks about techology trends and key learnings from the recent InfoAg Conference in this exclusive interview with PrecisionAg's Paul Schrimpf. Read More
PrecisionAg InstitutePrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper Library
August 1, 2018
Welcome to the PrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper library! Here you will find free whitepapers and case studies from the PrecisionAg Institute Partners Read More
AmericasIntegrity Ag Group: People Over Precision
July 30, 2018
It’s not every day that this reporter walks into the office of a precision ag dealer, sits across from the Read More
farmer-tractor-tablet
Systems ManagementWhat is Digital Farming — Really?
July 24, 2018
The agricultural community has spent several years synthesizing an operational description for digital farming. In several cases, there have also Read More
Data ManagementInfoAg News: Farmobile Launches DataEngine, Streamlines DataStore Buyer Process
July 17, 2018
Busy times these days out in Leawood, KS, for ag data startup Farmobile, as they continue to – pardon the Read More
Latest News
John Deere Operations Center
Data ManagementMaximize the John Deere Operations Center for Your Cust…
August 16, 2018
Today’s farming operation looks different than it did 20, 10, even just a few years ago. Technology continues to shape Read More
Service ProvidersNew Ag Retail Survey Identifies Key Business Challenges
August 16, 2018
From commodity prices and competition for business to future-proofing the operation, ag retailers shared their challenges and concerns in a recent survey conducted by Proagrica. Read More
WinField’s Joel Wipperfurth On Empowering Data-Driven Decisions
InfoAg ConferenceOne on One with Joel Wipperfurth, Winfield United
August 15, 2018
Winfield United's Joel Wipperfurth discusses ag technology trends and topics during last month’s InfoAg Conference. Read More
Geosys
Industry NewsUrtheCast to Acquire Geosys from Land O’Lakes in …
August 15, 2018
UrtheCast Corp. and Land O’Lakes, Inc. today announced they have entered a binding term sheet for the purchase of Geosys Read More
Harvest
Data ManagementAre You Ready for This Year’s Digital Harvest?
August 15, 2018
As the days in the Northern Hemisphere slowly get shorter, they are getting longer in the Southern Hemisphere and everywhere Read More
Wheelman-Pro
Industry NewsAgJunction Expands Automatic Steering Market to Smaller…
August 14, 2018
AgJunction, the autosteering company, has introduced Wheelman, a new way for farmers to automatically and accurately steer farm equipment at Read More
Drip-irrigation
Precision IrrigationFertigation as a Precision Agriculture Tool
August 14, 2018
Fertigation is a fertilizer application method in which dissolved fertilizers are delivered to the crop through the irrigation system. This Read More
Events5 Reasons You Should Attend Growing Innovations
August 13, 2018
The specialty crop market is wracked by unprecedented change: labor scarcity, water shortages, pressing demands for increased quality and transparency Read More
Data Science tablet
Data ManagementMicrosoft, Agile Networks Detail Central Ohio Broadband…
August 9, 2018
Agile Networks, a leading provider of telecommunications solutions, and Microsoft Corp. has announced a new agreement to bring broadband internet Read More
AmericasIvy Tech Opens Center of Excellence to Train Tomorrow&#…
August 9, 2018
Students interested in careers in precision agriculture equipment technology or diesel technology now have the opportunity to pursue certificates, technical Read More
1 On 1 With Paul Schrimpf: Simplot’s Allan Fetters
PrecisionAg InstituteOne on One With Simplot’s Allan Fetters
August 8, 2018
Allan Fetters of PrecisionAg Institute partner Simplot Grower Solutions talks about techology trends and key learnings from the recent InfoAg Conference in this exclusive interview with PrecisionAg's Paul Schrimpf. Read More
Corn field sunset
Industry NewsTrimble RTX Correction Technology Now Delivers Two Cent…
August 7, 2018
Trimble has announced that its Trimble RTX GNSS corrections technology can now achieve horizontal accuracies of better than two centimeters. Read More
Sentera-Gimbaled-Quad-Sensor
Sensors/IoTSentera Gimbaled Quad Sensor Optimizes Crop Health Data…
August 7, 2018
Sentera’s Quad sensor is now available in an integrated gimbal-stabilized package for DJI Inspire and Matrice drones. Featuring four fully-customizable Read More
BigDataSmall2
Data ManagementPrecision Agriculture: A Smaller Approach to Big Data
August 7, 2018
Big data is one of the most buzzed-about concepts in our industry. Rarely do we read a newsletter, attend a Read More
Grower-Retailer
Industry NewsAgworld, K-coe Isom Form Strategic Partnership
August 6, 2018
Agworld and K-coe Isom have announced a strategic partnership that will see them integrating business advisory and technology to deliver Read More
Industry NewsAgEagle Acquires Agribotix
August 6, 2018
AgEagle Aerial Systems has signed an agreement to acquire substantially all of the assets of Agribotix, a Boulder, CO-based drone-enabled Read More
Digital-Farming
Systems ManagementImplementing Digital Farming’s Five Major Needs
August 2, 2018
Building a house starts with a plan and then a foundation; it does not start with doors and windows. From Read More
PrecisionAg InstitutePrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper Library
August 1, 2018
Welcome to the PrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper library! Here you will find free whitepapers and case studies from the PrecisionAg Institute Partners Read More