Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

The thought of $3.50 corn for the foreseeable future seems pretty disheartening. However, if you look at the precision ag space you might notice some light at the end of the tunnel.

We’ve progressed to a place where we are collecting volumes of good yield, planting, and as-applied data. However, when it comes to using this data beyond looking at a paper map, we really need to admit we haven’t been using it to its full potential. And by “we”, I mean both the precision ag specialist and the grower.

Current technology allows us to marry information layers with our financial information. We can then couple it with current grain markets to determine farm financial performance. This has become a must for any operation. In order for us to weather these lower commodity prices, we are going to need to know “the rest of the story,” as Paul Harvey put it. Preserving and re-allocating working capital within the operation is of utmost importance.

Here are some important working capital allocation questions to consider:

  • How is our VRT fertilizer application paying?
  • Is there another crop production scenario that would maximize ROI?
  • If I showed these improved projections to my banker, would he be a little more generous on my operating loan and the interest rate?
  • In a depressed grain market, what am I going to do differently this year in order to improve my outcome to survive to the next growing season?

Imagine being able to identify areas in a field that have been consistently losing $250+ per acre per year over the past 3 years or more. Or how about finding other areas of the farm have production capped at 230 bushels because that’s all you fertilize for? What if you could utilize the data you’ve already taken valuable time and money to collect to give you a better idea of where to spend that exact same $250 to maximize your ROI? How would this change your operation?

The technology to be able to put these layers together to generate profitability zones in a sub-field scale on a map is available and is the sort of tool that will be utilized by the growers who will find their way back to prosperity the quickest. With that in mind, take note of this:

Analyzing profit on a spatial basis trumps EVERYTHING else that we are currently doing in the precision ag space!

As you look at your data in a spatial profitability program, you will notice that yield is not the only major determining factor to profitability and you can potentially improve your profitability without raising more bushels by simply finding areas in your field where you are investing your money inefficiently. Yes, this might require taking a good, long look at the quality of your data; but for many growers utilizing a spatial profitability analysis program could literally mean the difference between staying in business or going broke!

Not every grower has the time or is tech savvy enough to do this effectively. The same can be said about doing taxes, and that’s why most of us hire accountants. If you struggle with something like inputting your data into any of the popular web-based GIS software programs, then it’s important to have someone from outside your operation to assist you using the wonders of modern ag-tech. Your trusted precision ag advisor, if equipped with the right tools, may be able to help you with this.

What is Wrong with Using Spreadsheets?

I know a lot of people say spreadsheets are a great tool to measure profitability. However, with the data layers we have collected showing sub-field placement of our variable inputs it’s clear that spreadsheets are unable to accurately measure the variable profitability within the field. The new technology is all about managing profitability on a sub-field basis and you will find that spreadsheets just won’t cut it as a way of measuring that. I officially thank spreadsheets for their years of service in helping us determine “whole field” or “whole farm” profitability, but now it is time for spatial profitability analysis programs to take over that role.

I know this may be a big change for people, but it’s no different than when we moved from typewriters to computers for word processing a few decades ago. A new piece of technology was developed and everyone adapted without looking back. This is exactly what is happening with new GIS software technology and the growers who adopt it first have an advantage over the ones who drag their feet in adopting this technology. I encourage you to talk to your trusted precision ag advisor and ask how to improve your working capital allocation and return on investment by using this new technology.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: ROI or Die in Precision Agriculture

  1. Some fields or parts of the field will not yield 230 bu per acre no matter what you do. you have to look at if you invest a dollar are you getting more than a dollar ROI. I have a degree in GIS and most people are not ready to use GIS. in there operation.

  2. Not nearly as much fun for most guys as being in the shop working on things in the winter! And I think many of us on the precision ag side are trying to extract too much $$ to provide the consulting assistance to help those farmers who don’t want to sit in front of computers make sense of what they are seeing and develop strategies for THEM to make money from it. Venture capitalists are a greedy lot and need to be fed!

Data Management Stories
John Deere Operations Center
Data ManagementMaximize the John Deere Operations Center for Your Customers
August 16, 2018
Today’s farming operation looks different than it did 20, 10, even just a few years ago. Technology continues to shape Read More
Harvest
Data ManagementAre You Ready for This Year’s Digital Harvest?
August 15, 2018
As the days in the Northern Hemisphere slowly get shorter, they are getting longer in the Southern Hemisphere and everywhere Read More
Data Science tablet
Data ManagementMicrosoft, Agile Networks Detail Central Ohio Broadband Expansion Project
August 9, 2018
Agile Networks, a leading provider of telecommunications solutions, and Microsoft Corp. has announced a new agreement to bring broadband internet Read More
BigDataSmall2
Data ManagementPrecision Agriculture: A Smaller Approach to Big Data
August 7, 2018
Big data is one of the most buzzed-about concepts in our industry. Rarely do we read a newsletter, attend a Read More
Trending Articles
Geosys
Industry NewsUrtheCast to Acquire Geosys from Land O’Lakes in $20 Million Deal
August 15, 2018
UrtheCast Corp. and Land O’Lakes, Inc. today announced they have entered a binding term sheet for the purchase of Geosys Read More
1 On 1 With Paul Schrimpf: Simplot’s Allan Fetters
PrecisionAg InstituteOne on One With Simplot’s Allan Fetters
August 8, 2018
Allan Fetters of PrecisionAg Institute partner Simplot Grower Solutions talks about techology trends and key learnings from the recent InfoAg Conference in this exclusive interview with PrecisionAg's Paul Schrimpf. Read More
PrecisionAg InstitutePrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper Library
August 1, 2018
Welcome to the PrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper library! Here you will find free whitepapers and case studies from the PrecisionAg Institute Partners Read More
AmericasIntegrity Ag Group: People Over Precision
July 30, 2018
It’s not every day that this reporter walks into the office of a precision ag dealer, sits across from the Read More
farmer-tractor-tablet
Systems ManagementWhat is Digital Farming — Really?
July 24, 2018
The agricultural community has spent several years synthesizing an operational description for digital farming. In several cases, there have also Read More
Data ManagementInfoAg News: Farmobile Launches DataEngine, Streamlines DataStore Buyer Process
July 17, 2018
Busy times these days out in Leawood, KS, for ag data startup Farmobile, as they continue to – pardon the Read More
Latest News
John Deere Operations Center
Data ManagementMaximize the John Deere Operations Center for Your Cust…
August 16, 2018
Today’s farming operation looks different than it did 20, 10, even just a few years ago. Technology continues to shape Read More
Service ProvidersNew Ag Retail Survey Identifies Key Business Challenges
August 16, 2018
From commodity prices and competition for business to future-proofing the operation, ag retailers shared their challenges and concerns in a recent survey conducted by Proagrica. Read More
WinField’s Joel Wipperfurth On Empowering Data-Driven Decisions
InfoAg ConferenceOne on One with Joel Wipperfurth, Winfield United
August 15, 2018
Winfield United's Joel Wipperfurth discusses ag technology trends and topics during last month’s InfoAg Conference. Read More
Geosys
Industry NewsUrtheCast to Acquire Geosys from Land O’Lakes in …
August 15, 2018
UrtheCast Corp. and Land O’Lakes, Inc. today announced they have entered a binding term sheet for the purchase of Geosys Read More
Harvest
Data ManagementAre You Ready for This Year’s Digital Harvest?
August 15, 2018
As the days in the Northern Hemisphere slowly get shorter, they are getting longer in the Southern Hemisphere and everywhere Read More
Wheelman-Pro
Industry NewsAgJunction Expands Automatic Steering Market to Smaller…
August 14, 2018
AgJunction, the autosteering company, has introduced Wheelman, a new way for farmers to automatically and accurately steer farm equipment at Read More
Drip-irrigation
Precision IrrigationFertigation as a Precision Agriculture Tool
August 14, 2018
Fertigation is a fertilizer application method in which dissolved fertilizers are delivered to the crop through the irrigation system. This Read More
Events5 Reasons You Should Attend Growing Innovations
August 13, 2018
The specialty crop market is wracked by unprecedented change: labor scarcity, water shortages, pressing demands for increased quality and transparency Read More
Data Science tablet
Data ManagementMicrosoft, Agile Networks Detail Central Ohio Broadband…
August 9, 2018
Agile Networks, a leading provider of telecommunications solutions, and Microsoft Corp. has announced a new agreement to bring broadband internet Read More
AmericasIvy Tech Opens Center of Excellence to Train Tomorrow&#…
August 9, 2018
Students interested in careers in precision agriculture equipment technology or diesel technology now have the opportunity to pursue certificates, technical Read More
1 On 1 With Paul Schrimpf: Simplot’s Allan Fetters
PrecisionAg InstituteOne on One With Simplot’s Allan Fetters
August 8, 2018
Allan Fetters of PrecisionAg Institute partner Simplot Grower Solutions talks about techology trends and key learnings from the recent InfoAg Conference in this exclusive interview with PrecisionAg's Paul Schrimpf. Read More
Corn field sunset
Industry NewsTrimble RTX Correction Technology Now Delivers Two Cent…
August 7, 2018
Trimble has announced that its Trimble RTX GNSS corrections technology can now achieve horizontal accuracies of better than two centimeters. Read More
Sentera-Gimbaled-Quad-Sensor
Sensors/IoTSentera Gimbaled Quad Sensor Optimizes Crop Health Data…
August 7, 2018
Sentera’s Quad sensor is now available in an integrated gimbal-stabilized package for DJI Inspire and Matrice drones. Featuring four fully-customizable Read More
BigDataSmall2
Data ManagementPrecision Agriculture: A Smaller Approach to Big Data
August 7, 2018
Big data is one of the most buzzed-about concepts in our industry. Rarely do we read a newsletter, attend a Read More
Grower-Retailer
Industry NewsAgworld, K-coe Isom Form Strategic Partnership
August 6, 2018
Agworld and K-coe Isom have announced a strategic partnership that will see them integrating business advisory and technology to deliver Read More
Industry NewsAgEagle Acquires Agribotix
August 6, 2018
AgEagle Aerial Systems has signed an agreement to acquire substantially all of the assets of Agribotix, a Boulder, CO-based drone-enabled Read More
Digital-Farming
Systems ManagementImplementing Digital Farming’s Five Major Needs
August 2, 2018
Building a house starts with a plan and then a foundation; it does not start with doors and windows. From Read More
PrecisionAg InstitutePrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper Library
August 1, 2018
Welcome to the PrecisionAg Institute Whitepaper library! Here you will find free whitepapers and case studies from the PrecisionAg Institute Partners Read More